WPA2 Security now required to receive Wi-Fi mark

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
WPA2 Security now required to receive Wi-Fi mark

The Wi-Fi Alliance announced today that its WPA2 security certification is now mandatory in order for products to receive Wi-Fi certification.

WPA2 includes Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) and is based upon the full IEEE 802.11i standard. WPA2 is fully compatible with WPA, the first generation of Wi-Fi CERTIFIED security, and brings the technology two generations past WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy), the original security method for Wi-Fi networks.

Both WPA and WPA2 support Personal and Enterprise implementations. The Personal implementation is designed for consumer use, encrypts data with AES and uses a password as the basis for the encryption key. WPA2-Enterprise also encrypts data with AES, but uses the more robust Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) to authenticate users.

The Alliance said “nearly 600” products have already been Wi-Fi CERTIFIED for WPA2 since it was introduced as an optional program in September 2004.