Facebook has launched a geo-location app that allows users to easily share their location with other members of the popular social networking site.
Places - which is currently only available in the US - runs on a number of advanced mobile devices, including the iPhone, iPod Touch, Android smartphones, BlackBerry Torch and the iPad.
So, how does it work?
Well, simply go to Places on the iPhone application or touch.facebook.com site and then tap the "Check In" button.
You'll see a list of places near you, so choose the location that matches where you are. If it's not on the list, search for it or add it.
Your location “check-in” will then create a story in your friends' News Feeds and show up in the Recent Activity section on the page for that place.
Now, when you check in, you can also tag friends who are with you, just as you can tag a friend in a status update or photo.
In addition, you can post an update along with your check-in to tell people more about what you are doing.
And in the "People Here Now" section, you can see others who are checked in with you at the same place.
However, this section is visible for a limited amount of time and only to people who are checked in there. So, if you prefer not to appear in this section, you can choose whether you show up by unchecking the "Include me in 'People Here Now' after I check in" privacy setting.
Remember, only your friends can see when you visit or are tagged at a place, unless you have specifically set your master privacy control to "Everyone."
Of course, you also have the choice to set more restrictive customized settings - and you can always remove any Places check-in or tag using your mobile device or on the web. Just think of it like removing yourself from a photo tag.
Finally, you also have the choice to turn off the ability for friends to check you in at Places by going to your Privacy Settings and unselecting the setting "Let Friends Check Me In."