Friendster to delete user info as part of site overhaul

Posted by Kate Taylor

Ancient social gaming network Friendster is planning a relaunch, and is warning users that all their content will be deleted at the end of May as a result.

The company's short on detail on what it's planning, but says in a post on its site that it plans to focus more on entertainment.

"There will be new features that will leverage on your online activities and will enable you to connect with friends or engage new friends with similar interests," it says.

"For example, if you are playing games or listening to music but none of your friends are, your social experience may be limited. Our improved site is designed to create new profiles that allow you to connect differently with people and do things differently than other networking sites."

The user's list of friends will be preserved, along with basic profile information, wallet and games. However, messages, blogs and photos will be deleted, meaning that users that want to keep them will need to download or export the information; there's an app here. http://apps.friendster.com/exporter

Launched in 2002, Friendster's been pretty invisible in the US for some time, focusing most of its efforts on Asia. In December 2009, it was sold to MOL Global, and after teaming up with Yahoo Southeast Asia in January last year, it launched a music and games portal in the region last fall.

Currently, over 90 percent of Friendster's traffic comes from Asia.It's unlikely that many of its users elsewhere will even remember what content they've got on the site.