Microsoft Kinect developer seeks world record

Posted by Mike Luttrell

Most game developers just want to see their name on a top-selling title. This company has a little something more in its sights.

Rare, the company responsible for the launch game Kinect Sports, has announced it plans to go for a Guinness World Record. And it needs your help to do it.

Over the upcoming Easter weekend, Rare wants to set a new record for the "most people running a virtual 100m dash at one time." The event will take place within Kinect Sports.

Players will first need to download to "Xbox Nations" gamer pic. Then, at 1:00 PM Eastern Time on April 23, load Kinect Sports and compete in the sprinting event over Xbox Live. As long as you are doing an online sprint, you will count toward the record-setting feat, even though it may seem like nothing special is going on.

Regardless of how many people tune in for the activity, anyone who does will receive a special World Records t-shirt for their Xbox Live avatar (pictured).

Everyone throughout the world is invited to attend. For those in the US, the timing is 1:00 PM Eastern, 12:00 PM Central, 11:00 AM Mountain, 10:00 AM Pacific, 9:00 AM Alaska, and 8:00 AM Hawaii.

The Xbox Nations gamer pic will be available to download soon. Be sure you grab it or your participation on April 23 won't count!